Skip to main content
2022-2023 Catalog


Program details listed below.


Associate in Science (10400) CIP 24.0101

Last updated on Nov. 15, 2021, 2:35 p.m.

The Associate in Science degree shall be granted for a planned program of study consisting of a minimum of 60 semester hours of credit (SHC) of college transfer courses. Within the degree program, the institution shall include opportunities for the achievement of competence in reading, writing, oral communication, fundamental mathematical skills, and the basic computer use. Academic advisors are available to assist students in selecting courses that best meet students’ interests and the requirements of transfer institutions. Because course requirements vary among four-year institutions, students should obtain current catalogs from the schools they plan to attend.

Courses are approved for transfer through the Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (CAA). The CAA enables North Carolina community college graduates of two-year associate in science programs who are admitted to constituent institutions of The University of North Carolina to transfer with junior status.

Community college graduates must obtain a grade of “C” or better in each course and an overall GPA of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale in order to transfer with a junior status. Courses may also transfer through bilateral agreements between institutions.

Curriculum Offerings:

SHC - Semester Hour Credits


For additional information regarding this program, contact the dean, Carol Scherczinger,

Faculty Mentors:

Chelsea Edward Chair
Melissa Reid Chair
Carol Scherczinger Dean
Alisha Pendergrass Faculty
Barbara Taylor-Lineberry Faculty
Bestos Fongoh Faculty
Caroline Cook Faculty
Charles Dobbins Faculty
Denise Madrazo Faculty
Eric Savage Faculty
Felix Adusei-Danso Faculty
Ginger Pack Faculty
Jessica Fowler Faculty
Justin Bost Faculty
Katherine (Kassy) Bender Faculty
Kelly Lowman Faculty
Ken Lambdin Faculty
Kim Webster Faculty
Lara Swenson Faculty
Leah Frazier Faculty
Leanne Dixon Faculty
Lisa Bratti Faculty
Marc Kabengele Faculty
Matthew Hendricks Faculty
Matthew Lowder Faculty
Matthew Peeler Faculty
Maureen Thayer Faculty
Nikki Russell Faculty
Salome Thomas Faculty
Sharon Allen Faculty
Terri McKnight Faculty
Tracy Zanolini Faculty
Victoria Hayes Faculty