Skip to main content
2022-2023 Catalog


Program details listed below.


Associate in Arts (10100) CIP 24.0101

Last updated on Nov. 13, 2021, 10:13 a.m.

The Associate in Arts degree shall be granted for a planned program of study consisting of a minimum of 60 semester hours of credit (SHC) of college transfer courses. The degree program includes opportunities for the achievement of competence in reading, writing, oral communication, fundamental mathematical skills, and basic computer use. Academic advisors are available to assist students in selecting courses that best meet students’ interests and the requirements of transfer institutions. Because course requirements vary among four-year institutions, students should obtain current catalogs from the schools they plan to attend.

Courses are approved for transfer through the Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (CAA). The CAA enables North Carolina community college graduates of two-year associate in arts programs who are admitted to constituent institutions of The University of North Carolina to transfer with junior status.

Community college graduates must obtain a grade of “C” or better in each course and an overall GPA of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale in order to transfer with a junior status. Courses may also transfer through bilateral agreements between institutions.

Curriculum Offerings:

SHC - Semester Hour Credits


For additional information regarding this program, contact the dean, Carol Scherczinger,

Faculty Mentors:

Caroll Hodgson Chair
Holli Kempton Chair
Jenny Billings Chair
Robin Satterwhite Chair
Amy Bartram Faculty
Birgit Meadows Faculty
Candice Mills Faculty
Cassie Plott Faculty
Chayree Thomas Faculty
David Mason Faculty
Denice Traina Faculty
Duane Galloway Faculty
Ginger Fox Faculty
Jacquie Loupis Faculty
Jade Bittle Faculty
Jessalyn Coble Faculty
Karintha Tyree Faculty
Lora Beth Johnson Faculty
Mark Beisler Faculty
Melissa Mohlere Faculty
Miriam Berrospi-Kish Faculty
Nancy Waldrop Faculty
Nicholas McEntire Faculty
Renita Peeler Faculty
Robert Abbate Faculty
Sallie Herrin Faculty
Shauna Moser Faculty
Suzanne Shoaf Faculty
Teena Boone Faculty
Van Dempsey Faculty